What simple thing would persuade you to return to a hotel – this business performance booster?

If you travel a lot for work, as I do, do you find that many hotels can look and feel the same?

 

LIT

Same-looking robes and slippers, same beds and furnishings, same bathrooms?

Sure, they’re good – but they can look “the same”.

A client I was helping in Singapore booked me into a hotel I hadn’t stayed in before – and I can’t wait to go back there – and all because of the simplest thing…

the colourful and healthy morning juices.

colourful juices

Yes, there was a juice bar – and I just loooove different juices.

Juice bar

 

Tb juice bar

 

Now, if you’ve been on lots of business trips, you’ve probably filled yourself with lots of coffee to get you through your busy day.

For me, I find good juices more sustaining. I’m not as “jittery” for meetings and presentations. I seem to be calmer and more focussed. Good juices can also maintain my immune system.

(Warning: you may have to go to the bathroom more often – but I find the benefits outweigh the burdens!)

I still enjoy and have a breakfast coffee – but just not so many cups and I usually try to pick up a healthy juice somewhere outside the hotel.

 

green power juice

 

This hotel had a wide range of juices there for me – right there at breakfast.

I’m not just talking the usual orange juice or grapefruit juice – I’m talking Immune boosters and Kickstarters.

 

morning booster juice

 

The hotel was the Fairmont. I am not connected with the hotel in any way – other than being an appreciative guest.

Maybe other hotels also offer juice bars – but this was the first one I had seen and I’ve stayed in lots of hotels – especially in my previous job as a TV producer on Travel shows.

Slide1

Anyway, I just thought it was interesting that such a small thing as a juice bar could impress me so much and make me want to return to a specific hotel.

And I wasn’t the only one lining up for these healthy juices. I noticed lots of fit, high-performance types lining up for the juices. I’m not one of these fit types. Far from it!

I’ve just learned how good juices can help my business performance (better focus and endurance and calmness) and help keep me healthy during business trips.

 When you stay at a hotel – what little things  makes a big difference for you?

 

Please share in the comments section below.

————

So who is writing this?

Hi I’m Tony – a TV reporter and producer turned international communication trainer and consultant. I love writing – especially about the joys of travel – even business travel. I’m a bit like that George Clooney character in Up In The Air in that I actually enjoy the travelling life.

 

TB travel 2 shot

(I love travel- even business travel – what about you?  I no longer need the cane in this photo – the cane was just used when I was recovering from a torn Achilles tendon – and when trying to be like Mr Bates from Downton Abbey 😉   )

If you enjoyed this post – Let’s connect:

If you found this post interesting you can follow me and connect with me.

I blog about fun pop culture stuff as well as more serious business communication tips.

@tonybiancotti

Linked In – under Tony Biancotti

Or you can follow this blog.

These days, lots of people and organisations need help with how to COPE with too much work, too much information, too many meetings, delivering difficult news, business writing, effective e-mail, e-mail overload, cross-cultural communication etc. I like to help people COPE.

TBCope.001

About doubleshot media

Hi, I'm a lawyer turned journalist/speechwriter/presentation coach - combining business experience with personal passions for music and writing to blog about persuasion, retro, music, and even business lessons from theatre and performing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to What simple thing would persuade you to return to a hotel – this business performance booster?

Leave a comment