Vacation travel series for business travellers – What do YOU “need“ to re-energise and recharge on vacation?

International communicationWhat do YOU “need“ to re-energise and recharge on vacation?

Vacations should be a time to recharge and refresh – to take a break from your routine and do things that re-energise you.

Have you worked out what YOU need to do to recharge?

It’s interesting how working out what YOU and your fellow vacationers “need” can help you all have a better vacation.

For example, my wife and I have discovered that we have very different “body clocks” on vacation. We’ve learned to synchronise our different body clocks!

O early morning

I’m a “get up early and watch the sunrise” type of guy. I want to make the most of every vacation day. I can’t stand a slow start that “wastes the morning”

T early morning

On vacation, I can’t wait for the sun to rise – so I can go out and get down to the beach. My son Orlando likes to get up early and down to the beach too.

My wife Monique works morning radio and every work day gets woken by her alarm at 3:30 a.m.

Monique’s ideas of vacation bliss is:

  • no alarm
  • sleeping in and
  • waking up “naturally”
  • a slow, leisurely start to the day
  • a break from the news

Our daughter Cleo likes to sleep in too.

Also for Monique, a change of routine is to stay up past 9 p.m.  She usually has to go to sleep early  (between 8 and 9 p.m.) because she wales up s early. On vacation, she can stay up. Woo -hooo!

Understanding, different “needs” can help you all enjoy your vacation better.

For example, Monique understands that Orlando and I like to go to bed “early” so we can get up early.

Orlando and I are vewwy, vewwy q-wiet (said in an Elmer Fudd voice) as we leave in the morning so we don’t wake up the girls. We don’t them down to the beach to watch the sunrise!

Also, it’s a treat for the kids to stay up later and to be out “after dark” – so one night we planned it so we all went for an after-dinner stoll to see the penguins (make that penguin singular) down by Many wharf – and to enjoy a late-night ice cream. Woo-hoo – we sure live it up! Seriously, this was a big treat for US ALL!

M+C penguin watch

Also, for my Monique, a big treat is having breakfast with her family. She is usually at work when the rest of us are having breakfast. So we time it so we enjoy breakfast together.

C+T+M breakfast

Little things can mean a lot  on vacation– especially when you understand what you are “missing out on” the rest of the year – and by planning how you can get what you “need” during vacation time.

 

Awareness (of your and others’ needs)…planning…flexibility – can make for a better family vacation that will send you back to your “work” or normal life –refreshed and recharged!

mon b'fast

So who is writing this? and what does he know about travel, business, and business travel and juggling business with family life?

Hi I’m Tony Biancotti and I’ve been so privileged to travel  the world for my business – as a

  • TV reporter,
  • travel show producer (Getaway), and most recently as a
  • communication consultant speaking and training at international conferences and businesses.

Getaway travel

It’s a good thing that I enjoy travel – because I have to do so much of it.

I love to write about travel too – the challenges AND the “joys” (even on business trips) – and how to be more effective and productive with your travel.

I’ve been lucky to work with and learn from so many professional travellers and I like to share what I’ve learned – especially how you can be more effective on your business trips – and how you can be a better parent or partner when you return from your trip!

Also, you can probably tell by the blog title and logo – I’m a big fan of music and “retro” and yes I’ve travelled to check out Elvis’s plane The Lisa Marie!

TBbackpack prop

One of my favourite movies is “Up in The Air” and although I am not as extreme as the George Clooney character, I can relate to feeling of feeling “at home” and “at ease” when I am “up in the air” or in some new city learning about different people and different business cultures.

International communication

I train cross-cultural communication – writing and presenting and influence.

Between workshops you’ll find me absorbing and “researching” the culture and learning from the “locals”! I ask lots of questions and I love to learn new things.

Two of my “business” heroes are Guy Kawasaki and Garr Reynolds – partly for their communication talents – but also for how they seem to:

  • make the most out of their international travel
  • enjoy learning from different cultures, and most importantly
  • inject much of this JOY into their presentations! 

If you are not familiar with Guy and Garr, you should check them out. I often use business trip travelling and waiting time to watch, enjoy, and learn from their presentations!

About efangelist

Hi, I'm a lawyer turned journalist/speechwriter/presentation coach - combining business experience with personal passions for music and writing to blog about persuasion, retro, music, and even business lessons from theatre and performing
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vacation travel series for business travellers – What do YOU “need“ to re-energise and recharge on vacation?

Leave a Reply

